Indie Authors should be all “A-Flitter” for Twitter! Part 2 of 3

I feel, I must warn you that you should not use a personal Twitter Account for your business. I also suggest the people who are following you now may not be the audience you need to develop for marketing your book.

Allow me to clarify. The purpose of a marketing twitter page is to get your message to as many people as possible. In the Twitter World if a person does not follow you, when you tweet a message, they DO NOT GET IT. You will get all the messages THEY tweet, but they will receive NONE of yours. It doesn’t matter if you follow Brad Pitt and he has a million followers. If your dear friend, Brad, doesn’t follow you, he will never see your perfectly placed announcement telling him your book is going on sale (and neither will his followers). On the other hand, if a person follows you, when they see your interesting tweet they have the opportunity to click on your link and then maybe they will RETWEET it to their million followers. You also have the privilege to send them a DIRECT MESSAGE (basically a private email) and that gives you another opportunity to look at your information, Retweet it, and visit other links with your products.

The next logical question would be: Why shouldn’t I just follow as many people as I can and not worry about them following me back? Answer: Because Twitter LIMITS the amount of people you can follow in direct proportion to the amount of people who are following you.

Example:

Following You 1,800 + You Following Others 2,200 = okay

Following You 200 + You Following Others 2,000 = not okay.

So you have to keep it in alignment. They strictly police it. There are no exceptions. When you meet your maximum, they lock you out and you must either “unfollow” someone or wait until someone “follows” you.  Then you can follow a new person. Think of it like a bank account. Each “Follow” is a dollar. Don’t spend a dollar on someone who will not give you a dollar in return. Trust me, Brad Pitt is NOT going to follow you, so don’t waste your dollar. Pick someone who may follow you back—especially in the beginning. By the time you complete this book you will have at least 2,500 followers. Your ratio should look like this: 2500 Followers + 2500 Following = 2500 People Seeing EVERY Tweet you post!

Categories: Self-Publishing | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Indie Authors should be all “A-Flitter” for Twitter! Part 2 of 3

  1. Hi Sarah, love the way you write. I sense a sense of humour of note between the lines. Great post with great advice. I personally have 2 twitter accounts, one for my blog and one for “real friends and family” God bless
    Tracy

  2. Ok, slap my hand on forehead moment, I mean Hi REBA…
    God bless
    Tracy

  3. I agree with everything you’re saying, Reba! And there are all sorts of great sites you can use to manage your followers and see who isn’t following back. I’m partial to Tweepdash myself. I also use Qwitter to see who unfollows me.

    Also, something people should beware of are these folks I call “Twitter ninjas.” These are people who aren’t famous, who don’t have any particular merits that would cause them to have many more followers than following, and yet inexplicably have more followers than following in amounts that may number in the 1000s. One’s first instinct may be that they are influential people, but be extremely wary of following them back. Oftentimes they will follow you until you follow back, then unfollow you, thereby increasing their ratio and leaving you in the lurch.

    • All the more reason to have a “third party” program that searches for people who have unfollowed you. When people unfollow me…I unfollow them. No Exceptions! There are too many birds in the bush (forgive the pun) to sweat over people who don’t care enough to follow you.

  4. Beautiful

  5. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

