Today’s Word …

Today’s Word is:  Frustration

Say it with me class…F-R-U-S-T-R-A-T-I-O-N!

Remember I talked about in a previous blog about some of the lessons I learned.  Well, I have a new one to add to the list.

1. Think long and hard before you add any graphics to your interior text.  If you choose CreateSpace as your publisher…you’re gonna hit some snags.  These snags are not easily fixed and they can cause you to pull all your hair out.  From the roots, no less!

Here, let me write the problem on the chalkboard for you—graphics originally saved as 300dpi + change when they upload + convert to under 300dpi when CreateSpace “converts” them + to the Interior Reviewer = FRUSTRATION!  We have tried everything! NOTHING WORKS!

Saving the graphics under different formats.  We tried PNG, JPEG, CRAZY JEG, and Every other JEG under the sun…nothing would stick.

ŸSo we turned to our graphic designer (yep, she is a saint and a dear friend).  She suggested we covert the whole file to PDF then upload.  She was kind (and people you don’t have a clue how kind she is) enough to do this for us.  The result has been that SOME of the graphics covert fine, but in a random order, no person on planet earth could possibly understand, then others do not.  And to confuse the matter more, each time we upload, the graphics the program chooses (to mark as a error),  switch for no apparent reason.  How can this be?

ŸNow I am considering deleting the graphics all together or putting bamboo shoots under my fingernails.  Both seem appropriate at this point.

So here I am on the verge of a dream come true and I am stuck right smack in the middle of graphic error mud, and I have a choice.  I can back up, let go of the idea of graphics which make my novel unique and special, or I can remind myself of my mantra.

If another human being can do this—I can do this.  Yes, I can.

So I will breathe.  I will try again and I will do this thing.  I have to focus on the fact that I am learning a whole new world of process.  It is not going to easy.  All life changing things are usually a challenge…so onward!

Excuse me now, while I call my graphic designer, again!

Categories: Self-Publishing | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

